Crossroads

by Czarina

Standing at the crossroads
Not knowing which avenue I should take,
I hold my heart like a broken compass,
And my mind, a torn map.
I stand still at the dead end;
Both roads are war zones,
Each path leads to a bloodbath.
The crossroads of reason and emotions.
Whichever road I choose, your swords await.
Whatever path I take, my soul will be the casualty.
The road to reason will slay my heart;
The avenue of emotions will murder my mind.
Either way, there will be mayhem and madness.
Either way, I will be your slave.
You, a warrior without a heart.
An assassin masquerading as an angel.
Tell me which road I should pass.
Because I cannot stand at your crossroads forever,
Waiting, suspended, hanging by your strings,
A target of your poisoned arrows,
The victim of your deadly touch.
For once lay down your arms,
Stop pointing your swords at my heart.
Take my hand and lead me down
The less destructive path;
I am ready to wage this war,
A willing sacrifice held at the mercy
Of your double-edged words.
Slay me if you must.
But please get me out of this crossroads
And show me the way
Where my death will hurt less.

